Thoughts and scribblings of an overactive mind.

This is my attempt (mark that word carefully) at a healthy routine which I’m hoping will kick my wimpy-ass body and lazy-boy mind into shape.

 I leap out of bed at half 6 in the morning – and it is actually a leap because I have to get up to turn off the alarm before it wakes Andrew up. Then within fifteen minutes I’m out the door and running (yes, running) to work. Now to be fair this is only a five minute run – it’s not far at all. But for me it’s quite good because until this point I couldn’t anywhere, and I think it’s just good generally to keep up stamina.

Then at work I have either some cereal or an orange for breakfast and then another orange at about 11. Then I have lunch about 2, and this is usually a leftover portion of last night’s hopefully healthy meal.

 Back at home later (I don’t run back, people will see!) I cook dinner and we’re trying to keep it fairrrrrrrly healthy and much smaller portions because normally we do eat like gannets. The leftovers becomes lunch for the next day. Then another orange.

THEN I rest for about an hour, before doing more exercises which currently take the shape of me flinging myself about in the front room, trying to get it grips with Natalie Cassidy’s dvd. I’m hoping my elegance will improve with time. I do that for about half an hour, maybe a bit longer – then I have a bath (woo-woo!)

After bathtime I then try and strech my brain by sitting down to write for as long as possible. Good TV usually doesn’t start until 9 at the earliest, so I just sort of keep going until something fun comes on telly. By this time I’m flagging, and then I also have to think about washing up and getting my stuff ready for the next day, although this can generally be accomplished whilst la Bath is running. Phew! Then I collapse into bed, always with a sigh and a groan – and the fun starts again just a few hours later!

It’s a bit arduous at the moment, but I’m sticking with it because I’ve been told that if you get into the routine then eventually it feels less like a chore and more like enjoyment.

We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

